Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

Basel Youth Hostel

St. Alban-Kirchrain 10
4052 Basel (BS)

Top Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-5 Swiss_lodge Geeignet

Phone: + 41 61 272 05 72
Fax: + 41 61 272 08 33
basel@youthhostel.ch
www.youthhostel.ch/basel

youthhostel.basel.st.alban

Book online

Portrait

This youth hostel is a showpiece. The architects Buchner & Bründler signify innovative and modern architecture. New features are combined with existing aspects in Basel. Together with the construction of the youth hostel, the architects were also responsible for the Swiss Pavilion at the World Expo in Shanghai. An international orientation like youth hostels is therefore also normal for the architects.

The youth hostel is available for guests from all over the world. The new building was reopend with 234 beds in different room categories (double room to a room for 6 persons). The entrance lobby has an impressive look due to the transparency of the reception area, lounge and dining room. The combination of old and new features can be seen from the outside and perceived inside – everything is based on high architectural standards. The rooms are smaller, but still comfortably appointed.

Member benefits

Your local discounts

  • "Mobility Ticket" (free transfer in Basel by public transport): Each guest staying in Basel receives a free Mobility Ticket when checking in. This allows free use of public transport in the city of Basel and its environs (zones 10, 11 and EuroAirport) for the entire duration of the stay (max. 30 days). On the day of arrival, the reservation confirmation from the youth hostel guarantees a free transfer by public transport from the station or the EuroAirport to the youth hostel.

Further member benefits

With the financial support of: 

Getting here

by planeFrom EuroAirport Basel take the Airport shuttle bus no. 50. It will take you to the Basel main station SBB in approximately 16 minutes. From there follow directions as described from the train station SBB.

by public transportHow to get there 15 minutes’ walk from «Basel SBB» railway station via Aeschenplatz, alternatively take the no.2 tram line from there to the «Kunstmuseum» stop. From «Basel Badischer Bahnhof» railway station take the no.2 tram line to the «Kunstmuseum» stop. Then it’s a 5 minutes’ walk across the St. Alban-Vorstadt, down the Mühlenberg towards the Rhine, past St. Alban Church to the youth hostel. Signposts at the «Basel SBB» railway station.

by carLimited number of parking spaces in the surrounding area.
Free parking spaces for busses (PDF, 290 KB) in the surrounding area.

by wheelchair(from Basel SBB Railway Station, 1.4km, approx. 20 minutes) By tram line 8 to ‘Aeschenplatz’, change to tram line 3 or 14, alighting at the stop ‘Hardstrasse’.

Follow the grass strip which runs down the middle of the road to St. Alban-Anlage (approx. 200 m), then cross the road to the left in the direction of Turm/Park. Follow the road St. Alban-Vorstadt for about 100m (curve to the left), turning right at the first junction (St. Alban-Berg). Then turn immediately left into St.Alban Kirchrain, following this for 100m until you reach the Youth Hostel on the right.

Swiss Trac is recommended, as the route from the Youth Hostel to the city is steep.

The Youth Hostel does not have any parking spaces. Only loading and unloading possible. A limited number of parking spaces are available in the quarter.

Details

Open

all year

Check-in

at any time, rooms are ready from 3 pm

Check-out

until 10 am

Reception open

24-h service

Accommodation

  • 21 double rooms with shower/WC
  • 3 rooms with 4 beds (family rooms) and shower/WC
  • 36 rooms with 4 beds and washbasin
  • 6 rooms with 6 beds and washbasin

A total of 234 beds.
Showers/WC on the floor.

Good to know

All Swiss Youth Hostels can be booked on site.

Catering

  • Breakfast buffet (incl.)
  • Lunch and evening meal (3-course menu) 
  • Vegetarian meals
  • Special events and meals for groups on request
  • Bar service
  • snacks 24 hours a day

Infrastructure

  • Large lobby
  • Spacious terrace
  • Snack bar
  • 1 conference room (22 seats)
  • Extensive seminar equipment (video projector, TV/DVD, etc.)
  • Kiosk with souvenirs (Swatch, Victorinox, Wenger, SYH merchandising, etc.)
  • Bicycle cellar
  • Internet corner
  • Free WiFi

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Jugendherberge Basel

St. Alban-Kirchrain 10
4052 Basel (BS)

Top Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-5 Swiss_lodge Geeignet

Tel: + 41 61 272 05 72
Fax: + 41 61 272 08 33
basel@youthhostel.ch
www.youthhostel.ch/basel

youthhostel.basel.st.alban

Online Buchung

Portrait

Die Jugendherberge ist ein Vorzeigeobjekt. Die Architekten Buchner & Bründler stehen für innovative und moderne Baukultur. Die Architekten zeichneten sich auch für den Schweizer Pavillon der Weltausstellung in Shanghai verantwortlich. Die internationale Ausrichtung steht auch bei den Jugendherbergen im Zentrum. In Basel ist das Neue mit dem Bestehenden verknüpft worden.

Die Jugendherberge steht für Gäste aus aller Welt offen. Das neue Haus umfasst 234 Betten in unterschiedlichen Zimmertypen (Doppel- bis Sechserzimmer). Der Eingangsbereich besticht durch Transparenz. Der Empfangs-, Lounge- und Essbereich ist ein Raum und ist modern möbliert. Die Vermischung von alt und modern wird von aussen sichtbar und von innen erlebbar - alles auf hohem architektonischem Niveau. Die Zimmer sind reduziert und trotzdem komfortabel eingerichtet.

Mitgliedervorteile

Ihre Vorteile vor Ort

  • "Mobility Ticket" (gratis mit öffentlichem Verkehr in Basel): Jeder Gast, der in Basel logiert, erhält beim Check-In kostenlos ein Mobility Ticket. Dieses ermöglicht die freie Benützung der öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel in der Stadt Basel und Umgebung (Zone 10, 11 und EuroAirport) während der gesamten Aufenthaltsdauer (max. 30 Tage). Am Anreisetag garantiert die Reservationsbestätigung der Jugendherberge einen kostenlosen Transfer mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln vom Bahnhof oder vom EuroAirport zur Jugendherberge.

Weitere Mitgliedervorteile

Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung von:

Anreise

Mit dem FlugzeugNehmen Sie vom EuroAirport Basel den Flughafenbus Nr. 50. Dieser bringt Sie in 16 Minuten zum Basler Bahnhof SBB. Von dort aus folgen Sie der Beschreibung ab Bahnhof.

Mit den öffentlichen VerkehrsmittelnVom Bahnhof in 15 Gehminuten via Aeschenplatz oder mit dem Tram Nr. 2 vom Bahnhof bis zur Haltestelle «Kunstmuseum». Vom «Basel Badischer Bahnhof» mit dem Tram Nr. 2 bis Haltestelle «Kunstmuseum». Danach 5 Minuten zu Fuss durch die Alban-Vorstadt und den Mühleberg hinab gegen den Rhein, an der Kirche St. Alban vorbei, zur Jugendherberge. Beschilderung am Bahnhof.

Mit dem AutoLimitierte Parkplätze in der Umgebung. Kostenlose Busparkplätze (PDF, 290 KB) in der Umgebung.

 

Mit dem RollstuhlVom Bahnhof Basel SBB, 1,4km, ca. 20 Minuten
Mit dem Tram Linie 8 bis ‚Aeschenplatz’, umsteigen auf Tram Linie 3 oder 14, aussteigen bei der Haltestelle ‚Hardstrasse’.
Dem Grünstreifen welcher sich in der Strassenmitte der St. Alban-Anlage befindet folgen (ca. 200 m), dann die Strasse links Richtung Turm/Park überqueren, der Strasse St. Alban-Vorstadt etwa 100m folgen (Linkskurve), bei der ersten Abzweigung rechts abbiegen (St. Alban-Berg), dann gleich links abbiegen in den St.Alban Kirchrain, ca. 100m folgen bis zur Jugendherberge welche sich auf der rechten Seite befindet.

Swiss Trac wird empfohlen, da der Weg von der Jugendherberge in die Stadt steil ist.

Die Jugendherberberge verfügt über keine Parkplätze. Nur Ein- und Ausladen möglich. Eine limitierte Anzahl öffentlicher Parkplätze im Quartier vorhanden.

Details

Offen

ganzes Jahr

Check-in

zu jeder Zeit, Zimmer sind ab 15.00 Uhr bezugsbereit

Check-out

bis 10.00 Uhr

Rezeption offen

24-h-Service

Unterkunft

  • 21 Doppelzimmer mit Dusche/WC
  • 3 Viererzimmer (Familienzimmer) mit Dusche/WC
  • 36 Viererzimmer mit Lavabo
  • 6 Sechserzimmer mit Lavabo

Insgesamt 234 Betten.
Duschen/WC auf der Etage.

Gut zu wissen

Buchung aller Schweizer Jugendherbergen vor Ort möglich.

Verpflegung

  • Frühstücksbuffet (inklusive)
  • Mittag- und Abendessen (3-Gang-Menu)
  • Vegetarische Menus
  • Spezialanlässe und Menus für Gruppen auf Anfrage
  • Barbetrieb
  • Snacks rund um die Uhr

Menuplan

Infrastruktur

  • Grosse Aufenthaltslobby
  • Grosszügige Terrasse
  • Snackbar
  • 1 Sitzungszimmer (22 Plätze)
  • Vielfältige Seminarausrüstung (Hellraumprojektor, TV/DVD, usw.)
  • Kiosk mit Souvenirs (Swatch, Victorinox, Wenger, SJH-Merchandising, usw.)
  • Internetcorner
  • WiFi (kostenlos)