Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

Become a member!

A membership with the Swiss Youth Hostels gives you cheap accommodation at over 4,000 youth hostels hostels and thousands of travel discounts around world.

More

Zanzibar – dream island with oriental flair

Even the island‘s name "Zanzibar" sounds magical and wakens in many the desire to travel to the country far away. And the trip is well worth it. The visitors who arrive on this island in the Indian Ocean feel like they have just walked into a fairytale of 1001 nights. The beaches are white, the sea is cristal clear and in the narrow alleyways of Stone Town, the most ancient neighborhood of the country’s capital, visitors walk past the remains of its Arab past.

The Zanzibar Youth Hostel is located in the south east of the island and on the picturesque coast. Just a few minutes away is Makunduchi, a fishing village. For travellers who want to avoid mass tourism but instead prefer to get to know the locals and discover the hidden gems of the island the youth hostel is the right accommodation. It is not only a place to spend the night but it also offers the opportunity for cultural exchanges between guests and locals.

Directly in front of the hostel is a beautiful sandy beach, where one can enjoy a quiet afternoon in the shade of the coconut palm trees. Just a couple of meters from the shore there are many sorts of colorful fishes and corals which can be seen while snorkelling. The surroundings of the youth hostel can be best explored by bike which are available to hire, one of the islands most popular means of transport. Furthermore there are several interesting day trips that visitors can take. The most popular ones are diving, snorkelling, visiting spice farms or Stone Town, the old town of the capital, which is a UNESCO’s world heritage site.

Sustainability is one of the main concerns of the youth hostel. The menu consists mainly of local produce for example freshly caught fish or home grown fruit. It produces its one power with a photovoltaik installation on its roof and most of the materials used for the construction were also locally bought.

Zanzibar Youth Hostel in Makunduchi is part of the small Swiss Charity Organisation CAAA. Which was founded as a Association in 2006 by Nicolas Sarraj, a teacher "Education is the most effective weapon against poverty", according to its slogan. Therefore in Makunduchi, the CAAA also runs a school for professional training in tourism, agriculture as well as fishery. The students of the school work in the youth hostel in order to gain practical experience and be able to escape poverty. CAAA has also built a primary school for over 500 pupils in Zanzibar. All the profit of the youth hostel is completely reinvested into the projects of the charity organisation. Travellers who are interested in getting involved with the charity work of CAAA can get further information about its projects in the youth hostel.

Zanzibar Youth Hostel: Prices

Overnight stay

  • Bed in 12-bed dorm with ensuite bathroom CHF 15.00
  • Bed in 6-bed dorm with ensuite bathroom CHF 18.00
  • Bed in twin or double room with ensuite bathroom CHF 28.00

Meals

  • Breakfast included
  • Lunch and dinner from CHF 10.00 each

Further information

  • Non-members pay a daily sur-charge: CHF 7.–, families CHF 14.–, Groups: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
  • Children aged 0–1 year free; 2–5 years a flat rate of CHF 15.–; 6–12 years, a flat rate of CHF 25.–

Information and bookings

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Mitglied werden!

Profitieren Sie von den zahlreichen Ermässigungen im In- und Ausland und übernachten Sie in über 3’500 Jugendherbergen weltweit zu Mitgliederkonditionen.

Mehr

Sansibar - Trauminsel mit orientalischem Flair

Bereits der wohlklingende Name Sansibar weckt in vielen Menschen eine Sehnsucht nach der Ferne. Die Reise lohnt sich auf jeden Fall. Denn wer auf der Insel im Indischen Ozean vor der Küste Tansanias ankommt, taucht in eine Welt wie aus 1001 Nacht ein. Es gibt traumhafte weisse Strände mit türkisfarbenem Meer und in den engen Gassen der Hauptstadt Stone Town trifft man auf viele Überbleibsel aus der arabischen Vergangenheit.

Das Zanzibar Youth Hostel liegt im Südosten der Insel an malerischer Küste. Wenige Minuten entfernt liegt das Dorf Makunduchi, wo viele Fischer leben. Wer keine Lust auf Massentourismus in einem Ferienressort hat, sich stattdessen für die Bewohner und die Schönheit der Insel interessiert, ist in der Jugendherberge genau richtig. Das Zanzibar Youth Hostel soll auch ein Ort der Begegnungen und des kulturellen Austauschs bilden.

Direkt vor der Haustüre gibt es einen wunderschönen Sandstrand, wo man die Seele baumeln lassen kann. Wer mit dem Schnorchel einige Meter ins Meer hinausschwimmt, bekommt eine faszinierende Unterwasserwelt mit vielen Korallen und Fischen zu Gesicht. Die Umgebung der Jugendherberge kundschaftet man am besten mit einem der hauseigenen Velos aus, die übrigens auch zu den beliebtesten Fortbewegungsmitteln der Einheimischen gehören. Ausserdem gibt es eine Reihe von interessanten Tagesausflügen. Zu den beliebtesten Zielen gehören Tauch- und Schnorcheltrips, der Besuch einer Gewürzfarm oder der Besuch der Altstadt von Stone Town, die zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe gehört.

Nachhaltigkeit wird in der Jugendherberge gross geschrieben. So stehen auf dem Menü in erster Linie regionale Produkte wie zum Beispiel fangfrischer Fisch oder leckere Früchte. Den Strom produziert eine Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Dach und beim Bau wurden möglichst lokale Materialien verwendet.

Das Zanzibar Youth Hostel in Makunduchi ist Teil des kleinen Schweizer Hilfswerk CAAA, das als Verein von einem Lehrer im Jahr 2006 gegründet worden ist. "Bildung ist die beste Waffe gegen Armut", lautet das Moto. In Makunduchi betreibt CAAA darum auch eine Berufsschule für Tourismus, Landwirtschaft und Fischerei, deren Schülerinnen und Schüler in der Jugendherberge arbeiten, um praktische Erfahrungen sammeln zu können. Ziel ist, dass die Absolventen der Schule eine Chance auf eine Arbeit bekommen und so die Armut hinter sich lassen können. CAAA hat auf Sansibar ausserdem eine Grundschule für rund 500 Kinder gebaut. Die Gewinne aus der Jugendherberge werden vollumfänglich in die Projekte des Hilfswerks investiert. Gäste der Jugendherberge, die sich für die Projekte des CAAA interessieren oder sich während ihres Aufenthalts engagieren wollen, sind herzlich willkommen, vor Ort mehr zu erfahren.

Preise Jugendherberge Zanzibar

Übernachtung

  • Bett im 12-Bett-Zimmer CHF 15.00
  • Bett im 6-Bett-Zimmer CHF 18.00
  • Bett im 2-Bett-Zimmer (mit Bad) CHF 28.00

Mahlzeiten

  • Frühstück inklusive
  • Mittag- und Abendessen ab CHF 10.00

Weitere Informationen

  • Nichtmitglieder zahlen einen Tageszuschlag von: CHF 7.–, Familien CHF 14.–, Gruppen: CHF 55.– / CHF 99.–
  • Kinder von 0–1 Jahr gratis, von 2–5 Jahren pauschal CHF 15.–, von 6–12 Jahren pauschal CHF 25.–

Information und Reservation