Skip to navigation Skip to content

  • Print

We're currently closed. We'll be back on 23 March. Bookings and requests can be accepted.

Dachsen am Rheinfall Youth Hostel

Schloss Laufen am Rheinfall
8447 Dachsen (ZH)

Simple Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-3 Swiss_lodge Free_wifi_v02

Phone: +41 52 659 61 52
Fax: +41 52 659 60 39
dachsen@youthhostel.ch
www.youthhostel.ch/dachsen

youthhostel.dachsen

Book online

History - Schloss Laufen

Perched majestically on an outcrop of rock just below the Rhine Falls at Dachsen sits the thousand-year-old Schloss Laufen castle. Despite its romantic situation, it owes its location first and foremost to strategic considerations. Because of the raging waters below the Rhine Falls and the strong current above, it was well-nigh impossible to capture the castle by water.

The Barons of Laufen

Laufen is first mentioned by name in the documentary records in 858 in a property transfer involving the Wolven family living in Thurgau. The name "Laufen" originates from "grosses Lauffen" as the Rhine waterfall was known at that time.

Ownership of the castle frequently changed, and was not always clearly recorded. In the 12th century, the castle was presumed to belong to the bishop of Constance, while at the same time ownership was also documented in Laufen by the Monastery of All Saints in Schaffhausen and the Counts of Kyburg.

Even the noble lineage of the Barons of Laufen who take their name from the castle, only owned it for around a hundred years.

The Old Zurich War

After a period in which the castle changed hands several times, it was the property of the Fulach family during the Old Zurich War (1439–1450). The fact that since the departure of the Barons of Laufen, the right to live in it with their successors, the Barons of Tengen, made the castle enemy property from the Zurich perspective. During the siege and conquest of the castle in 1449, it was reported that the defenders protecting the Fulach family endeavoured to escape by lowering themselves from the rock outcrop on long ropes and swimming to the other bank. A single occupant, who regarded the turbulent waters of the Rhine as the greater danger, remained behind and allowed the besiegers into the castle. Just one year later, however, soldiers loyal to the Fulach family succeeded in reconquering the castle. With diplomatic foresight, they gave up their Schaffhausen citizenship and applied for that of Zurich.

The property of the city of Zurich

Despite the endeavours of the city of Schaffhausen to gain a foothold on the left bank of the Rhine through the acquisition of Laufen Castle, Hans Wilhelm von Fulach finally sold the property together with the surrounding bailiwicks of Uhwiesen and Dachsen to the city of Zurich in 1544. Zurich thus gained a welcome territorial expansion to the north and had the acquisition converted into a residence for its chief bailiff shortly thereafter. It remained unchanged in this building condition for almost three centuries and the ring wall with its striking rectangular gate tower constructed at that time remains largely in existence to this day. Domination of the countryside by the city through the bailiwicks was consolidated and still produced feudalistic traits until the end of the 18th century. This came to an abrupt end with Napoleon’s invasion in 1798. The bailiwicks were deprived of their status and the castle, like many others, remained uninhabited for some years. It was only from 1804 that the castle was occupied again by a series of tenants. One of these was the landscape painter Ludwig Bleuer, who relocated his school of painting to the castle in 1833, with the intention of creating a great work above the Rhine. In 1845, he was able to purchase the castle. Around 100 years later, in 1941, the Canton of Zurich acquired the castle from his descendants. It was put to use as a youth hostel which opened officially in 1946.

Dachsen Youth Hostel today

Dachsen am Rheinfall Youth Hostel today

Laufen Castle. View from the north-east 1840

Laufen Castle. View from the north-east 1840

Laufen Castle. View from the south 1840

Laufen Castle. View from the south 1840

Skip to navigation Skip to content

Nous sommes actuellement fermés. L'auberge ouvrira à nouveau le 20 Mar 2015. Les réservations seront confirmées.

Auberge de Jeunesse Dachsen

Schloss Laufen am Rheinfall
8447 Dachsen (ZH)

Simple Eu-label Hiq Quality-1 Steinbock-3 Swiss_lodge

Tél: +41 52 659 61 52
Fax: +41 52 659 60 39
dachsen@youthhostel.ch
www.youthhostel.ch/dachsen

youthhostel.dachsen

Réservation en ligne

Histoire - Château de Laufen

Le majestueux château millénaire de Laufen trône sur un éperon rocheux au-dessus des chutes du Rhin, à côté de Dachsen. Malgré son emplacement romantique, ce site obéissait avant tout à des objectifs stratégiques. Les eaux impétueuses en aval et les forts courants en amont des chutes du Rhin rendaient en effet impossible l’assaut du château fort par les eaux.

Les barons de Laufen

En 858, Laufen est mentionné pour la première fois lors d’un transfert de propriété des Wolven, sis en Thurgovie. Le nom de « Laufen » provient de « grosses Lauffen », ancienne appellation des chutes du Rhin.

Le château fort changea souvent de propriétaire, de façon parfois confuse. Au XIIe siècle par exemple, alors qu’il était censé être aux mains de l’évêché de Constance, l’abbaye de Tous-les-Saints de Schaffhouse et les Comtes de Kyburg en étaient également propriétaires selon certaines sources.

Même la famille noble qui tire son nom du lieu, les barons de Laufen, ne restèrent qu’environ cent ans propriétaires du château.

L’Ancienne guerre de Zurich

Après plusieurs changements de propriétaire, le château passa pendant l’époque de l’ancienne guerre de Zurich (1439–1450) aux mains de la famille Fulach. Depuis le départ des seigneurs de Laufen, le droit de vie était resté au bon vouloir de leurs successeurs, les barons de Tengen, ce qui fit du château fort un ennemi du point de vue zurichois. On raconte que pendant le siège et la conquête du château en 1449, les défenseurs unis autour de la famille Fulach se laissèrent glisser sur de longues cordes par dessus l’éperon rocheux jusque dans le Rhin et nagèrent vers l’autre rive pour s’enfuir. Un seul habitant resta sur place, bien plus effrayé par les torrents tumultueux du Rhin, et laissa pénétrer les assiégeants. Mais les partisans de la famille Fulach réussirent à peine un an plus tard à reconquérir le château fort. À des fins diplomatiques, ils renoncèrent à leurs droits de citoyens de Schaffhouse et demandèrent à être rattachés à Zurich.

Possession de la ville de Zurich

Malgré les efforts de la ville de Schaffhouse visant à s’implanter sur la rive gauche du Rhin en acquérant le château de Laufen, Hans Wilhelm von Fulach finit par vendre la propriété à la ville de Zurich en 1544 en même temps que les baillis voisins de Uhwiesen et Dachsen. Zurich put ainsi étendre son territoire vers le nord et fit transformer sa nouvelle acquisition en résidence pour son grand bailli. Le château resta alors en l’état pendant près de trois siècles, et la fortification érigée à l’époque avec sa porte carrée caractéristique est encore aujourd’hui en grande partie préservée. La ville affirmait ainsi sa main-mise sur le pays par le biais de ses baillis, et on trouve jusqu’à la fin du XVIIIe siècle des caractéristiques de ce régime féodal qui prit fin en 1798 avec l’invasion de Napoléon. Les baillis furent alors supprimés et le château resta inoccupé pendant de longues années, comme beaucoup d’autres. Ce n’est qu’à partir de 1804 que de nouveaux locataires s’y installèrent. Parmi eux, le peintre paysagiste Ludwig Bleuler installa son école de peinture au château en 1833 avec l’intention de réaliser une grande œuvre sur le Rhin. Il acheta le château en 1845, et ses descendants le revendirent au canton de Zurich près de 100 ans plus tard, en 1941. Une auberge de jeunesse y fut aménagée, et ouverte en grande pompe en 1946.

L’auberge de jeunesse de Dachsen aujourd’hui

L’auberge de jeunesse de Dachsen aujourd’hui

Le château de Laufen. Vue du nord-est en 1840

Le château de Laufen. Vue du nord-est en 1840

Le château de Laufen. Vue du sud en 1840

Le château de Laufen. Vue du sud en 1840